Indonesia’s 1-0 victory pushed them to third place in Group D, earning them their first three points. Meanwhile, Vietnam dropped to the bottom with zero points after two games, making them the first team to be eliminated from the tournament.

Vietnam had previously lost 2-4 to Japan on January 14.

In another match earlier on the same day, Iraq took the lead in Group D by defeating Japan 2-1.

During the pre-match press conference, Vietnam’s head coach Philippe Troussier had anticipated a “balanced battle,” but it turned out to be the opposite.

Aided by their passionate supporters, Indonesia took an attacking approach from the start, putting pressure on Vietnam and creating more dangerous opportunities.

Although Vietnam tried to settle down and control possession, most of the action took place in their own half due to Indonesia’s aggressive play, which disrupted Vietnam’s tactics.

The persistent pressure eventually paid off for Indonesia.

In the 42nd minute, Asnawi Mangkualam broke the deadlock from the penalty spot after Nguyen Thanh Binh pulled the shirt of an Indonesian player, resulting in a penalty awarded to Indonesia.

Returning from the dressing room, Troussier’s squad immediately pushed into Indonesia’s territory and had three chances to score, but failed to convert.

Indonesia’s solid defense continued to thwart Vietnam’s attempts to score as time ticked away.

Despite their urgency, Vietnam struggled to launch effective attacks as their midfield was quickly shut down whenever they gained possession.

Things got worse for Vietnam when Le Pham Thanh Long received a second yellow card for fouling Marselino Ferdinan, resulting in a red card shown in stoppage time.

In the end, Indonesia secured their first victory against Vietnam at the national team level since 2016.

In the final group-stage matchday, Indonesia will face Japan next Wednesday, while Vietnam will go up against Iraq.

The 2023 AFC Asian Cup, which is being held in Qatar until February 10, features 24 teams competing in six groups using a round-robin format.

The top two teams from each group and the four best-performing third-placed teams will advance to the Round of 16.

In Group A, reigning champions Qatar are joined by China, Tajikistan, and Lebanon, while Group B includes 2015 champions Australia, along with Uzbekistan, Syria, and India.

In Group C, three-time champions Iran are up against the United Arab Emirates, Hong Kong, and Palestine.

South Korea will compete against Malaysia, Jordan, and Bahrain in Group E, while three-time title holders Saudi Arabia will play against Thailand, Kyrgyzstan, and Oman in Group F.