The Vietnamese government has issued a new resolution, which replaces Resolution 79 dated May 25, 2020 and Resolution 60 dated April 27, 2022. This resolution, which came into force on Tuesday, allows foreigners to enter and exit Vietnam with an e-visa at 13 selected airports, 16 border gates, and 13 seaports.

The airports that accept e-visas are Noi Bai, Tan Son Nhat, Cam Ranh, Da Nang, Cat Bi, Can Tho, Phu Quoc, Phu Bai, Van Don, Tho Xuan, Dong Hoi, Phu Cat, and Lien Khuong.

For border gates, e-visas are applicable at Tay Trang, Mong Cai, Huu Nghi, Lao Cai, Na Meo, Nam Can, Cau Treo, Cha Lo, La Lay, Lao Bao, Bo Y, Moc Bai, Xa Mat, Tinh Bien, Vinh Xuong, and Ha Tien.

The seaports that accept e-visas are Hon Gai, Cam Pha, Hai Phong, Nghi Son, Vung Anh, Chan May, Da Nang, Nha Trang, Quy Nhon, Dung Quat, Vung Tau, Ho Chi Minh City, and Duong Dong.

Furthermore, the government has extended the visa-free stay for citizens of 13 countries from 15 days to 45 days. These countries include Germany, France, Italy, Spain, the UK, Russia, Japan, South Korea, Denmark, Sweden, Norway, Finland, and Belarus.

This extension applies to all types of passports and entry purposes, as long as citizens meet the entry requirements as defined by Vietnamese laws.

In order to promote tourism, attract foreign investors, and enhance scientific research and business cooperation, the Vietnamese government has also made amendments to the Law on Entry, Exit, Transit and Residence of Foreigners. These amendments allow for the validity of e-visas to be extended to 90 days for single or multiple entries.

The government will decide on the specific countries and territories whose citizens can enjoy the extended stay, as well as the international border gates that can be accessed using an e-visa.

It is worth noting that prior to the new resolution, Vietnam had already granted e-visas to citizens from 80 countries.